International Astronomical Union (IAU)


The International Astronomical Union (IAU) was founded in 1919. Its mission is to promote and safeguard the science of astronomy in all its aspects through international cooperation. Its individual members — structured into DivisionsCommissions, and Working Groups — are professional astronomers from all over the world, at the Ph.D. level and beyond, who are active in professional research and education in astronomy. The IAU has 12454 members. The Individual Members Directory contains 10445 names in 96 countries worldwide. In addition, the IAU collaborates with various scientific organizations all over the world.

The scientific and educational activities of the IAU are organized by its 9 Scientific Divisions and, through them, its 35 specialized Commissions covering the full spectrum of astronomy, along with its 20 Working and Program Groups. The long-term policy of the IAU is defined by the General Assembly and implemented by the Executive Committee, while day-to-day operations are directed by the IAU Officers. The focal point of its activities is the IAU Secretariat, hosted by the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris, France.

I am affiliated to Commissions C1 and C2. Commission C1 is for Astronomy Education and Development. Commission C2 is Communicating Astronomy with the Public. In Commission C1 there is a working group on Astronomy for Equity, Inclusion and Diversity.